Happy Canadian Turkey Day

Today is Thanksgiving Day up here in Canada Land, at least for a few more hours. I’ve mentioned before, this is my favourite holiday. Time to be thankful for all the good things in our lives, and to eat until we feel like we never need to eat again. Then you lie around doing very little until you have digested enough to be able to eat again. This usually translates to having pie for breakfast the next morning.

Every year, a friend of mine hosts a turkey supper. It is a bit of a potluck affair, and everyone brings at least one thing, if not two or three things. . . SO MUCH FOOD. This was the first year I wasn’t on call the day of his supper, so I made a pumpkin pie and a pumpkin cream pie. Yay pie!

And now this becomes a story of pie. Because my first Thanksgiving in Newfoundland, I didn’t make anything because I was on call but the guy I was seeing at the time made a couple of pies. I helped. And while I helped I remembered that my mum once taught me how to make pie, including making the pastry from scratch. It was one of those things that I stopped doing in university because I didn’t have time. So after that first Thanksgiving in Newfoundland I routed around in my recipes until I found my mum’s pastry recipe, and found my favourite lemon meringue pie recipe, and had at it.

And it was magical.

And now when my best friend lets me leave my car in his driveway when I’m out of town, I pay him back with pie. He gets a key lime pie for his birthday every year.  And whenever a holiday meal potluck is happening, I bring at least one pie. Often two.

I am thankful for pie.

Banoffee Pie, before we covered it in whipped cream. Was my first time having it. It is DELICIOUS! And it is a fairly simple pie to make, with enough foresight. (Making the toffee takes time, but is super easy.)

I had never made pumpkin pie before, but my mum made amazing pumpkin pies. I was therefore admittedly embarrassed to be associated with this particular pumpkin pie. It was not great. I make GREAT pumpkin pie.

It was Bob’s first Thanksgiving! Looking at this picture makes me hungry… I love turkey suppers.

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Happy Canadian Turkey Day

  1. OMG I LOVE PIE. How much is a ticket from Maryland to Canada I wonder…

  2. That’s a lot of smashed potatoes you got there, lady.

Leave a Reply

