Ain’t No Party Like a George Street Party

So every summer there’s this thing that happens in St John’s: George Street Fest.

TheBiggest Little Street in North America” parties for six straight days, featuring both big name bands, tribute acts and local favorites alike.”

This is how it works: You pay a ticket price to get on George Street, where there is an outdoor stage and some bands will be playing. The bars have windows open to the outside or carts outside so you can buy drinks without going inside, and you can DRINK ON THE STREET! WoooOOOooo! (This is not normally allowed in Canada, in case you are unawares). More than a concert and a chance to drink outside, it can also be a chance to go inside some bars on the street you may normally not go into because you don’t want to pay the cover.

Some people go down for the music, some wait until later in the night and go down to visit all of the bars. Some people will swing both ways.

My first summer I was working a fair bit, as I didn’t know any better to ask for those nights off. But I went down one night with some folks from work to catch the cover band “Bon Journey”, because I work with some ladies who go nuts for Bon Jovi and they couldn’t miss a cover band that does Bon Jovi and Journey songs only! I mean, how often do you get to hear Bon Jovi classics mixed with Journey classics, in one show? Rock on!

I went another night with some friends for the “Kitchen Party” night, because we were a bunch of Come From Aways (in other words, none of us were born in Newfoundland) and it seemed like a good “Newfoundland” thing to take part in. It was a pretty mild George Street Fest experience, to be honest. There will be more George Street Fest posts, and they will be more exciting… but my first year I was just testing the waters.

And I brought Bob.

Little bit of rain couldn’t stop us from having a time!

And if you’re curious to hear more of this wonderful time to be had in St John’s, and are too impatient to wait for me to move on from writing about only my FIRST year in Newfoundland…. You can check out Candice’s post about it here… Appropriately, full of photographs taken by me! 😉

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in Newfoundland and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ain’t No Party Like a George Street Party

  1. Ok, this is embarassing… You said “The “Biggest Little Street in North America” and I thought…wait… I thought she was in Canada….
    Stupid American.

  2. Pearl says:

    Sounds like fun. 🙂

    I shall be at the Autumn Brew Review tomorrow in Northeast Minneapolis. An outdoor gathering with a hundred different beers to taste and — wait for it! — an organ grinder! Wheeeeee!

    Oh, and food trucks. And people wearing pretzel necklaces.

    Did I mention the beers? 🙂

    Pearl

  3. Nikki B says:

    DRINKING IN THE OUTSIDES??? A band called BON JOURNEY??? Count me IN.

    Bob is just the icing on that cake.

Leave a Reply

