The Edge of Canada has Whales

That same day my dad and I headed to Signal Hill, we also headed to Cape Spear.

Cape Spear is one of my favourite spots, for so many reasons. It’s the site of the oldest surviving lighthouse in Newfoundland, and I love lighthouses. Something about them just makes me happy. It also has old World War II bunkers and guns, and I enjoy history and Canadian war history in particular. Cape Spear is the most eastern point of North America. That’s pretty cool, because I love the East Coast, so why not be the most Eastern! And of course, there’s the view. . . I have seen the most incredible waves on the rocks there, and sometimes you can luck out and see icebergs or whales!

No icebergs that day, but we did get a whale! Let’s just jump right to the photos, shall we?

Functioning lighthouse is the tall skinny one, the squat building at the end is the old lighthouse, now a museum!

WWII bunker, gun (in the wooden platform), and a bit of lighthouse!

Some big gun, luh!

Tunnel in the rock.

Lighthouse! Love! This is the current operational Cape Spear lighthouse 🙂 Don’t you just want to hug it?

WHALE!!!

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in Newfoundland and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Edge of Canada has Whales

  1. I love lighthouses too. How can you not! Nice pics!

  2. omawarisan says:

    Love lighthouses and those long spiraling staircases. Don’t know if you can go into Cape Spear light, but if you get a chance, take it!

    • dottiemaggie says:

      I don’t think you can go in the currently opertaional one, but I’ve been in the original one 🙂 I’ve also been inside most every lighthouse in PEI that you’re allowed to go into. The stairs generally scare me, as I don’t like heights… but still I crawl up ’em!

  3. JaniceP says:

    The love of lighthouses is ubiquitous.

  4. Kate says:

    Love these. Thanks for sharing. Hope all is well!!

Leave a Reply

