My Beacon Home

So my first summer living in Newfoundland my dad came to visit me in July. I used this opportunity to hit up some tourist attractions I hadn’t had a chance to visit yet. The first one on our list: Signal Hill. I have since been to Signal Hill, whether on foot or by car, about 50 million times, and I never get tired of the views. Now that I live in downtown St John’s, Cabot Tower is my beacon home – if I’m heading towards Signal Hill, I know I’m heading in the right direction.  (useful when you get as turned about and lost as I do.)

Signal Hill has some cool history to it, war stuff and the like, and was where the first transatlantic wireless transmission was received in 1901. So I’m told. If you’re into history and such, I would recommend you hit up the google and fill your boots.  I like learning about the past, but the reason I return to Signal Hill so frequently is just because it’s so darn pretty. There’s a great hike up the hill, and always a rewarding view once you make it to the top.

My first trip to Signal Hill we drove up, and it was a great sunny day so we wandered around the top just taking in the sights. . .

View from the top. Can see the whole city from up here. Loves it.

 

Remnants of a time gone by.

 

Cabot Tower, the city of St John’s, and some lovely fluffy clouds!

 

Like any good historical site, Signal Hill has benches and informational plaques. Oh, and an epic view of the Narrows, Fort Amherst, and some delightful green space. No big deal.

 

Queen’s battery is down the pat a ways, and the lovely St John’s harbour. Have I mentioned lately I love this place? Because I totally do.

 

It’s a Plane!

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in Newfoundland and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to My Beacon Home

  1. Amy says:

    Very pretty! I mean to get up that way some day…

  2. Nikki B says:

    Fabulous! Ah, summer!

  3. just. beautiful.

    Hey, like you!

  4. Pingback: The Edge of Canada has Whales | Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Leave a comment