I Saw a Ship Come Sailing In

I have written before about how living in a harbour town is a good time. It’s not all about the people that come on the boats, though. . . sometimes it’s about the boats themselves!

When I first moved to St John’s I lived up by the Avalon Mall, depressingly far from the harbour. I was downtown fairly often, and so got to see the harbour fairly often. . . but always under the cloak of darkness. Would take walks along the water front, and admire the big shiny boats. . .

Pretty big! But you really can't appreciate it in the dark. Trust.

As impressive as these big shiny boats might be when they’re asleep, I was super pumped when my dad and stepmum were up for a visit and we got a gorgeous sunny day. Perfect for a stroll down the water front! That same awesome big ship I had seen at night was fifty million times cooler on a sunny afternoon. . .

In the sunny day time, you can start to appreciate the awesomeness fomr far away! And get all kinds of excited! EEEE!

I don’t know what it is about big boats. It’s probably right up there with lighthouses. I love them because they come along with the ocean, and the ocean makes me happy.

How epic is this boat? So tall! And shippy! And what a gorgeous day 🙂

A few cool boats have come to hang out in the St John’s harbour since I moved here. This was the first one I got to see, back in July 2009. It is the Russian tall ship Kruzenshtern, built in 1926, and apparently is the 2nd tallest tall ship in the world.  People could go on and meet the crew and such, which a lot of people did. . . but dad, Penny and I were not curious enough to deal with the line up.  It was enough just to see it up close.

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in Newfoundland and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I Saw a Ship Come Sailing In

  1. omawarisan says:

    So cool that you get to live in a place like that.
    If my ship comes in, please get in touch.

  2. Abby says:

    How neat! I’m not a fan of actually being on boats, but they are truly impressive when you see them like that.

  3. JaniceP says:

    It might be the prairie girl in me, but I could spend hours (days) walking along piers, just looking at boats.

  4. Amy says:

    We’ve got the Constellation in Baltimore nearby, and I remember seeing Francis Drake’s boat (I want to say the Golden Hind? Heh.. ) near where I lived once but I can’t remember where that was then… Old boats are neat.

  5. Kate says:

    Must visit. Yesterday. Beautiful!!

  6. Nikki B says:

    SO cool. I was at sea for research and got to watch a bunch of tall ships (including the Amistad!) come in to harbor. SO AWESOME.

    PS just in case anyone missed it, “tall ships” is the appropriate name – it’s not me pointing out that they’re tall…

  7. i’m so jelly!!! and that is for real.

    its been my lifelong dream to live in like a sleepy beachside down. yummy. were everyone wears like white shorts and flip flops and hops in a boat and rows down the creek to go back to their house.

    wait. i might be thinking of dawsons creek

    • dottiemaggie says:

      sounds a lot like Dawson’s Creek. And nothing like St John’s. No white shorts here. Shorts are a rare occurence in general. And I’ve never seen a boat on any of our creeks. An we are sorely lacking in beaches…

      …I’m not doing a good job of selling St John’s to you, am I? :S

Leave a Reply

