When one door closes, another one opens. . . eventually.

I wrote this on an airplane December 30, and just haven’t sat down with some internet access until today.

So, it’s that time again. That reflective, end of the year time. When I look back at the year that has been. Overall, 2011 has been a pretty good year for me. It’s been jammer packed with new experiences and adventures, and while it wasn’t without its troubles, challenges, and heartbreaks the good definitely outweighed the bad. So much so, that when looking back I almost forgot about some of the trouble spots.

The most noteworthy heart break was work related – the clinic cat where I work became increasingly ill and the decision was finally made this past summer to euthanize her.  I was her doctor, but I was also a staff member who loved her. It was the closest I’ve yet to come to euthanizing my own pet. And I did it surrounded by over a dozen people I work with, who were sobbing. And there were several dozen of people around the province, across the country, who knew the moment we were doing it, were pausing in their day, and feeling a special kind of sadness. Taking responsibility for that final act was humbling, emotionally draining, and thus far the hardest moment of my career.

Like anyone, I’ve experienced an imperfect year. . . but that’s honestly the only really dark moment worth expanding on in this post, so I would definitely count myself as lucky.

There was so much to be thankful for in 2011, and the adventures were many. I would say my three highlights for the year were the KISS concert, my brother’s wedding, and the giant kidney worm surgery.. They will all have their own post in time.

Rocking out at KISS concert. Didn’t have any fun at all that night. Nope, none.

I visited new places: Sackville, NB, Bowmanville Zoo, Bonavista.  No very exciting travelling, but I had my favourite traditional jaunts to PEI and Ontario. I got away when I needed to, and that’s what matters to me.

My dad taking a photo of the ridiculous llama at the Bowmanville Zoo.

Some friends moved away, some friendships ended (one on a very, very sour note. . . but as hindsight is 20/20, I’ve come to realize that I’m so much better off), and as always new friendships were made. I’ve even had a good friendship blossom into something even better, and it’s been exactly what I needed in my life right now.

My friends are a bit ridiculous. This is why I love them so.

I learned some important life lessons in 2011: Standing up for yourself can be scary, but is almost always completely worth it. Even if nothing changes, you feel better for having spoken up. Never say never, people will say “I told you so” no matter what, but it’s easier to swallow if you were so adamantly opposed. Finally, don’t date magicians. Just trust me on this one.

Between almost donating a kidney, and having a doctor tell me he thought I might have a brain tumour, I went through a lot of medical testing this year and am happy to report I am ridiculously healthy. Except for an occasionally crippling issue with insomnia.

I tried new things, most notably: hula hooping fitness classes.  Best idea of the year, I’d say. And I became that much more of a grown up when I finally received my full licence. Now no one has to know I never learned to drive until I was 27 years old. (except that I will fully admit it when explaining why driving still freaks me out…) My pets are all doing well, my job is going well, I’m settling into a bit of a routine that works for keeping me a little less crazy. (but still having ridiculous amounts of foolish fun. I’m never really going to grow up entirely.)

I have big plans for 2012, and am hopeful for another mostly positive year. I have my ticket booked to go to Orlando for my 30th birthday. I have been promised a trip to a conference at some point, we just don’t know which conference yet. I have very solid plans to go to Chicago, and will work every holiday for the whole year if I have to, to get the time off to make it happen.

Oh, and I made a drunken promise to take up Irish Dancing and I totally plan to see that through.

Super pumped for the year ahead! Woooo!

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When one door closes, another one opens. . . eventually.

  1. Oh my god, that photo of you and Matt is perfect.

    BRING ON 2012 AND IRISH DANCE CLASSES!! Still gotta look into that…

  2. linlah says:

    And now we also know your tounge is pierced, one fact at a time. Hope for a hellofa good year.

  3. Amy says:

    I love that the line “I’ve tried hula hooping fitness classes” was IMMEDIATELY followed by “I’ve become more of a grown up.” 🙂

  4. JustMe says:

    Irish Dancing seems like the weirdest thing on the planet – but it also looks like it gives you mega leg flexibility and muscles, which has got to be good for kicking people’s asses. Literally.

Leave a Reply

