Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good feast!

Look who’s blogging again! ;D

The short version of my excuse for not writing: Work. We’re down two vets, so I’ve been having to put in more hours, been on call more often, and with everything else going on this time of year I’ve barely been home to sleep!

I’ve been doing pretty well, though generally exhausted. Am currently on hour 29 of 48 hours on call, but once that’s done I’m heading back to Ontario for a few days of relaxation at my dad’s. Then I’ll be refreshed and ready to take on the New Year!

It’s been far too long since my last post, so I thought a Christmas post was in order.

As my last post was a bit depressing, how about something more cheerful? How about my first Christmas in Newfoundland? How about all the delicious food? Sounds good to me!

The 2009 holiday season was a great one for food, let me tell you. . .

Early December, some friends of mine had a German roommate, and hosted this German holiday feast. . . there was amazing fruit bread, these delicious baked apples with cream, lots of sausage, and mulled wine. So much deliciousness!

Delicious bready goodness

Baked apple with raisins and nuts and creamy creamy goodness!

Spicey winey warmth!

Every year at work we do a Secret Santa exchange, and people get quite into it. In 2009, though, we had a potluck to exchange the final gifts at. . . this photo really only gives you a small fraction of an idea of how much food was at this event! It was amazing. This is also where I was introduced to my favourite holiday drink: Egg nog, with Bailey’s, stirred with a candy cane! Om nom nom!

There was about 30 people, and they all brought something delicious!

Mint Chocolate Bailey’s is especially nice to use!Stir the candy cane, and savour the drink, and the candy cane melts and the drink gets mintier! YUM!

Next up was my very first work Christmas party experience. It is definitely the highlight of my holiday season. . .  and always such a delicious, somewhat fancy, meal! I may have made my date order a different dessert than I, so I could try both. . . and somehow also ended up finishing off a third. . .

Some fancy kind of beef dish. Tasted as good as it looks 🙂

Always room for more dessert!

Of course, it’s just not Christmas without Christmas baking! In 2009 I did a big Gingerbread men bake with some friends.  I also made my special candy cane ice cream cake to bring into work.

Fun with gingerbread! Gingerbread zombie, gingerbread santa.. we got it all!

Chocolatey ice cream candy cane infused awesomeness!

Some other food moments: A holiday feast with friends before they headed out of town to go home for the holidays, delicious snacks at a Tibb’s Eve party, and my delicious Christmas Eve feast for my lonely Christmas Eve before I did Christmas Day on call.

Seafood overload with homemade pasta = deliciousness! 🙂

Every good party should include a cheese platter.

This was a big deal for me back then. . . my 2010 New Year’s resolution was to learn how to cook more than mashed potatoes and frozen foods…

Not included would be all the mountains of chocolates and treats clients brought to the clinic. . .  I must say, the food is definitely one of my most favourite parts of this time of year!

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good feast!

  1. JaniceP says:

    That looks pretty great to me. Merry Christmas, Maggie. Enjoy your trip back to Ontario.

  2. Kate says:

    You are so crazy creative!! These look awesome!! We missed you in the blog-o-sphere, but glad to hear you’re getting a couple days of rest. Take care of yourself!! Home things calm down at work very shortly.

  3. Amy says:

    I love that all your gingerbread men look like they are doing jumping jacks. It looks like they’re helping you stay trim WHILE you eat them – perfect!

  4. linlah says:

    How did you do on your resolution for more mashed potatos. I love mashed potatos more than anything else.

    • dottiemaggie says:

      lol, it was to make more THAN JUST mashed potatoes… I love mashed potatoes more than most anything, that was one of the first things I ever learned how to cook well ;D
      I did a pretty good job with the resolution, though. I’m pretty handy in the kitchen now… as long as I have a recipe to follow 😉

Leave a Reply

