Wee Vet Tale 4

One of my first nights on call after I moved to Newfoundland, I had an interesting call. It went a little something like this, at about midnight:

Answering service: “Dr? We have a call from the RNC. They’re not sure if you’re who they should call. They’re calling about a snake they found in someone’s yard. ”

Inside my head: “Who the frak is the RNC? I feel like I should know this…”

Out loud: “Uh, okay, what’s the number?”

Answering service: “The number is such and such.”

So I give the number a call. . .

Woman: “Hello?”

Me: “Hi, this is Dr. Maggie; I understand you have an issue with a snake?”

Woman: “Yes. We just collected a snake out of someone’s yard.”

Me: “Bear with me here, I only just moved to Newfoundland . . . but aren’t there no snakes here?”

Woman: “Yes, that’s the issue. We’re not sure what kind of snake it is or what to do with it, but it must be someone’s pet. Would you be able to take it?”

Me: “Well, I’m going to be honest with you, I’ll just be googling it to figure out what kind of snake it is. The clinic isn’t really set up to house a snake, and we don’t really take in strays. Have you tried humane services or the SPCA?”

Woman: “No, we started with you.”

Me: “Well, try them and see what they say, and if they won’t help you, call me back and I’ll figure something out.”

They never called back. I was thinking, for some foolish reason, small snake… I’d keep it in a box and bring it to the clinic the next day and figure things out. However, it was a 6 foot snake, I found out from the newspaper a couple days later. This was back when I was walking to work, so that would’ve been interesting . . . and the girls at work probably would’ve killed me.

Also, turns out, RNC is the police. I didn’t figure that out until the next day. (RNC stands for Royal Newfoundland Constabulary.)

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Job and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wee Vet Tale 4

  1. Kate says:

    Constabulary…sounds like you have to be smarter to live in Canada! What a story! I’ve heard that sometimes when people buy snakes, they don’t understand how big they’re going to grow and so when they get bigger than expected, they flush them down the toilet and the snakes go through the sewer system and up into other people’s toilets. Now that I’m writing this, I’m pretty sure it’s just an urban legend…but I always look in the toilet before I sit down.

    I LOVE snakes. I always wanted one. But I would have a huge problem feeding it dead mice and such so I’m sticking to dogs and I allow our cat to stay with us. I think the snake wouldn’t be too happy if I said he was going to be a vegetarian from now on…then I might look like pretty good meat to him!!

    • dottiemaggie says:

      This is the only place I’ve been in Canada that calls them Constabulary. . . and really, mostly they’re just called the RNC 😉
      and, yeah, pretty sure that’s an urban legend 😛 Pretty sure being flushed would kill the snake..

      I used to really want a snake… but now I know I should never have any kind of animal that lives in an enclosure… I would be way to remiss in keeping it clean. . . I have a hard enough time keeping my living environment clean!

  2. Nikki B says:

    Hee hee hee… why do I find this wee tale so funny?

    I guess it’s the difference between what was imagined (even by me as I started reading) and what was real.

    … hee hee hee…

Leave a Reply

