The Harbour Life For Me!

Turns out, I’m not dead! Almost, though. July went from bad to worse, and I barely survived until my vacation time! But, survive I did. Returned last night, and am determined to get back into the swing of things. Baby steps, though, so only a little post this week, as I take a break from unpacking. . .

So, there are a lot of reasons I like living in a town with a busy harbour.  Some of those reasons have to do with living within lovely view of that harbour – it’s an ever changing, always beautiful view. Other reasons are the things that come into the harbour from time to time. . .

Not an every day occurence, actually!

July, 2009, a ship from the Australian Navy made a stop in St John’s as part of its world tour. One evening, the navy troop band provided entertainment at a local bar, and a few of the girls from work and I headed down to check it out. They performed in uniform, and then later came back in civvies and made random guys come up and sing along, and it was hilarious. I didn’t recognize half the songs, but half the bar was drunken navy men who did – so it was a great time all around.

They had a book full of lyrics, in case the volunteer vocalist was unsure of the words. The crowd was also pretty helpful, though!

Yes, it’s true, you don’t need a harbour to have visitors come from around the world. . . but I’m pretty sure you need one to dock a navy vessel. Just saying.

Our new friend, Griff! He kept us in stitches the whole night – telling us tales of navy life, comparing Australia to Canada, and generally being ridiculously hilarious.

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Harbour Life For Me!

  1. linlah says:

    Now I want a harbour.

  2. Kate says:

    Glad to hear you’re still breathing (I’d be really worried if not for FB). I know you said something about a bad break-up but I didn’t want to say anything on FB in case you weren’t sharing. I hope you are taking care of yourself and if there is a boy who so greatly lacking intelligence that he can’t see how amazing you are, don’t give him the time of day! Hope all is well and continue to get better!

    • dottiemaggie says:

      thanks 🙂 I did go through a break up back in June, but it wasn’t that bad… he was a lieing douchebag, turned out, and I’m better off 😉 I was upset for about a day 😛
      Work’s been super stressful – summer is a busy time for us and this summer has had some extra strain on it. But I’m still making sure to get out and have some fun to balance it out 😉 Just not spending as much time online….

  3. Pingback: I Saw a Ship Come Sailing In | Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Leave a Reply

