You’ve Got the Music in You

Going to take a little departure from the usual here, inspired by my weekend. This past weekend I was in Sackville, New Brunswick. Why? We’ll get to that. (and my life post-vacation is always at its most chaotic. Takes me DAYS to unpack. So, sorry for the posting delay! I’m still not done unpacking. . . )
A very important thing for anyone is to find a balance between work and the rest of your life. This is especially important if you have a stressful job. Being a veterinarian can be mentally, physically, and emotionally draining. To balance this, I need things in my life away from work that make me happy, that take my mind off the job, and bring something to my life that work doesn’t.
I have always known the importance of balance, and have always tried to make time for friends who aren’t a part of my veterinary world. I love books, movies and music and try to make time for those things. I like to knit, I like to take Ollie for walks, I go to the gym, and clearly I like to spend time online. I have a very full life, and it keeps me from completely going insane.
As I mentioned, I love music. More than just listening to music, I love participating in music. All throughout elementary and high school I was in choirs, and in high school I was also in band. I had a piano for years (I hardly played it after moving to Newfoundland, so I gave it to a musician friend for the time being). In university I kind of missed being part of a choir.
How is this all related? Well, when I moved to Newfoundland I considered the idea of getting involved with a choir again. I tried to look into what my options were, and all I could find involved audition processes that intimidated me and I dropped it for awhile as I got caught up in exploring my new home. Then in 2010 I was going through some difficult times, and trying to kind of rebuild my life a little bit, I happened to hear a radio ad for Newfound Sound.
So I checked out the website, and it didn’t take me long to email them to express an interest in joining. Definitely one of the best decisions I’ve made in my life.
More than just giving me a chance to sing and be a part of a chorus again, Newfound Sound really gives me that balance I need in my life. It doesn’t matter how badly my week is going, I always drag myself to rehearsal on Wednesday night. No matter how downhearted, worn out, and stressed I feel, I will feel remarkably improved by the end of the night. This has happened without fail. Singing with the chorus is one of the most effective stress relievers I’ve found.
Newfound Sound is a women’s Barbershop Chorus, and a chapter of Harmony Inc. .  Harmony Inc. has different “areas” and we’re in Area 1. Each Area has an annual contest & convention, and this past weekend was the Area 1 Contest & Convention , hosted by the ScotianAires  in Sackville, New Brunswick.
I can’t even begin to describe how amazing this weekend was, but it was RIDICULOUS. I had so much fun, learned a lot about barbershop singing, and met so many amazing women. I’ve become closer to some of the women in my chorus, and already have some summer plans with a couple of them. (The chorus takes a break from rehearsals and such for the summer). I’m exhausted, but it’s a good kind of exhausted. It’s an amazing kind of exhausted. Aside from the competition, there were classes to attend, coaching for our chorus as a whole, and fun evenings full of songs and laughter. And of course, being a group of fun loving ladies from Newfoundland, there were no early nights.
If there’s something in your life you used to enjoy, I’d encourage you to see if you can indulge it in again. You may be surprised at how much it can bring to your life now. Not once during this weekend did I think or worry about work, and I feel completely recharged.
By the end of the weekend, I was also so full of food I may never eat again . . . but that’s just how I roll on vacation.

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to You’ve Got the Music in You

  1. linlah says:

    I can’t carry a tune unless it’s on an iPod.

  2. Kate says:

    I LOVE, LOVE this post. I was trying to find people to hang with now that I’m unemployed because in the past, the people I work with are my closest friends. So I was looking for groups that I could join in my town, and there was nothing. Well nothing good at least. There are 100,000 people who live here and there is no knitting group, no public books clubs (that I could find), not even a mother’s group. The only parenting group I could find was like, you should beat your kids, try time-outs and that wasn’t what I was looking for. Anyways…that’s my lame story because I was going to try and branch out. I feel if I had something that was my own 1 day a week, that would be great. Josh has fun things 3 nights a week and I just want one, but I can’t find one.

    Anyways, I think you are amazing and crazy busy, I get tired just reading about your life. It takes some effort and courage to put yourself out there like you have, so I think that’s great! I also have great admiration for you for having that balance, which so many struggle with. I don’t know any vets personally, but I feel like it could/would be a very stressful job that can occupy the majority of your life. I imagine it does for you because you care so much for your “patients.” So I am glad to hear that you put high priority on re-charging yourself! Wish I lived in NF and I could join in on all the fun nights!

    • dottiemaggie says:

      awww… thank you so much for your kind words 🙂
      It took me 1.5 years to find this chorus – so don’t give up! Have your eyes and ears open and you never know what you might find 🙂 When I was searching for a choir, I found nothing…. I happened to hear a radio ad by chance one day for Newfound Sound when I had pretty much given up hope on finding a chorus 🙂
      I owe a lot of my courage to the people in my life – I’m surrounded by inspiring people who put themselves out there, and encourage me to give things a try as well 🙂 I told Candice about the chorus before I joined and she was all for me going out and trying it, and it helps to have someone giving me little subtle pushes like that 🙂

  3. Pingback: When one door closes, another one opens. . . eventually. | Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Leave a Reply

