My First Taste of the East Coast Trail

Newfoundland has a lot to offer an outdoor enthusiast. I am not an outdoor enthusiast. But, I do enjoy beautiful scenery and long, quiet walks full of beautiful scenery. Ollie just loves long walks. So one day when we had walked down to Quidi Vidi, we went exploring nearby and were introduced to the East Coast Trail.

From the website:

“The East Coast Trail is a 540 km coastal hiking experience that takes you to the outermost reaches of North America. The Trail provides walkers and hikers with a special blend of wilderness adventure, outstanding natural beauty, wildlife, history, and cultural contact.”

This first trip we explored a bit of Sugarloaf Path with a couple new friends. We didn’t do the whole thing, Ollie and I had already walked over an hour before we got to the trail, and had to walk all the way home again, so I had to be aware of the fact that I didn’t want to end up trying to carry my 40kg dog home.  (All told we were out for 5 hours that day. God love him, he never showed any signs of fatigue . . . but slept like a rock the rest of the day!) At this point (late June, 2009), I was already in love with Newfoundland. If I hadn’t been some of the views on this trail would’ve won me over once and for all.

Starting up the path! Some parts of the trail even had steps built into it. Very helpful.

I'm a big fan of hiking trails that have signs. Makes me feel less lost. 😉

I'm not rolling on a dead animal carcass, I swear! I'm just. . . sunning my belly!

Hiking along this bit of the trail gives you some breathtaking views of St John's. I love when you can be in such isolation so close to a city.

I love that I call this home.

No whales or icebergs that day, but still relaxing to just sit high up on the coast line and look out over the water.

If you’re big on hiking and such, and planning on visiting Newfoundland, I would definitely recommend checking out the East Coast Trail and planning it into your visit. You can check out a wave driven geyser, a suspension bridge, historic abandoned settlements, historic communities, lighthouses, and maybe even some icebergs and whales if you’re lucky!

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in Newfoundland and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to My First Taste of the East Coast Trail

  1. JaniceP says:

    NFLD is the only province I haven’t visited. Each time that you have posts like this, I think to myself that I need to go there too.

  2. Dies for a little east coast trail! Quidi Vidi to Sugar Loaf Mountain is still my favourite section.

  3. Kate says:

    LOVE it! So beautiful! I love trails that have mile markers-then I can feel I accomplished something.

    • dottiemaggie says:

      I love being able to track progress and feel like I’ve accomplished something! Though sometimes it can also be discouraging… when you feel like you’ve gone much further than you actual have… ;D

  4. Pingback: Trying to get from point A to C, but we called it a day at B | Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Leave a Reply

