Swimming With Sea Turtles For The Win!

This past weekend was my birthday, and I had a fantasticly fun time, and so I’m going to take a step away from my usual posts, and go back in time to before I had ever been to Newfoundland. Back to right before I moved to Newfoundland. Back to possibly the most memorable birthday of my life.

In April 2009 I had finished veterinary school and my class decided the best way to celebrate was a week in Mexico at an all-inclusive resort. Conveniently, this meant I’d be spending my birthday in Mexico. Now, I had grown accustomed to hijacking events and making them my birthday party, because my birthday lands right after final exams and there was always a party handy. I enjoy the lack of effort involved on my part: show up, announce my birthday status, get free drinks. So this seemed perfect.

Now, when you spend a whole week laying in the sun, by the pool or on the beach, reading, napping, and hitting up the swim up bar when you need a refreshing dip, and loving the buffet when you’re feeling peckish . . . you need to really take it up a notch to make your birthday special. So I chose my birthday as the perfect day to go SWIM WITH SEA TURTLES.

I could pretty much end the story right now. Seriously. All I needed was one sea turtle and my life was made. And we saw MANY sea turtles! And a barracuda! It was amazing. I was the happiest person ever. SEA TURTLES ARE SO AWESOME.

This was so cool! I can’t even describe how awesome this was!

Obviously, though, the day didn’t end there. After cake and ice cream and a tequila sunrise for lunch, I headed over to the resort Spa for a massage. Birthday present to myself. It was HEAVENLY. I made a resolution to have more massages in my life. (A resolution I’ve kept as of this year, thanks to my health insurance and doctor’s orders! Don’t mind if I do!)

Leaving the spa, I ran into a couple of my class mates about to embark on a game of mini golf. I joined them. It was the most brutal course ever, bordering on impossible, and absolutely thick with iguanas. Good times were had, though, even if I probably shouldn’t have been out in the sun covered in massage oil…

Just chillin’, totally judging our lack of skills.

For supper, conveniently, there was beach BBQ that night! And pretty much all my classmates who were on the trip came out to that. They had the band play me happy birthday. I never had to stand at the bar to wait for my drink, other people did it for me. I ate a lot of food. Fabulous.

The band that played me Happy Birthday on the beach.

Afterwards I wanted to go check out the entertainment show that evening, and me and another classmate headed down a bit early. . . early enough to join in the Bingo game happening beforehand. . . and I won! I won a bottle of tequila. Excellent.

I think the goal was to get all 4 sides. . . RIFAS!

The show was entertaining, as usual, and then a bunch of us hung out in the lobby, drinking tequila, waiting for the discotheque to get on the go. I found a Happy Birthday balloon in the lobby, which was appropriate and I held on to it for most of the night. Amazingly, it was beach party night at the discotheque… so the entertainment staff was out in their speedos to dance with us. HILARIOUS.  And again, I never had to put up with the line up at the bar – other people did it for me! (It was an all-inclusive trip, so there was no actually “buying” me drinks…)

Yeah, that happened. AMAZING. It was kind of hard to take them seriously when they wanted us to dance with them. . .

After the discotheque, a couple of friends and I wandered down to the beach. I may or may not have run into the water, fully clothed, declaring my love for the ocean. . . We eventually found ourselves at the all night beach bar, where some more of our gang were having some snacks, then we went back to a room for a hot tub party.

I heart the salty seas!

All in all, a fairly epic birthday. Other birthdays have been amazing, but it’ll be hard to top SEA TURTLES, never mind everything else!

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Swimming With Sea Turtles For The Win!

  1. omawarisan says:

    there is nothing like the out of town birthday with friends. mercifully, when I do it those speedo guys dont show.

    • dottiemaggie says:

      really? I think all good vacation stories involve at least one speedo guy. . . ;D
      I’m seriously considering going on a trip for my birthday next year. . . conveniently one of my friends might be getting married in Cuba right around my birthday… otherwise, I’m considering Disney World. True story.

  2. linlah says:

    OMG I bet Omawarisan is one of the speedo guys. Can you imagine, wait let’s not imagine. Anywho, a Taurus with an Aries cusp, it’s no wonder we’re blog mates.

  3. dottie says:

    what resort were you at and where the turtles on a tour or our in front of the resort??

  4. OMG. looks amazing! i hate birthdays and birthday parties, but only if they’re mine – but this one looks pretty awesome.

    double jealous!

    happy belated bday maggie!

  5. Kate says:

    1-snorkeling in Florida was one of my favorite times ever.
    2-I am pretty sure that when winning BINGO the prize should ALWAYS be tequila.
    3-I think that hanging out with you would always be an adventure.
    4-I have NO IDEA how you have time to do all that you do, work, and blog and everything.

    • dottiemaggie says:

      tequila should definitely be the prize more often, that’s for sure.
      I do lead a pretty boring life 9 times out of 10… I spend most nights playing cards with my boyfriend and watching TV 😉 But when I set out to have an adventure, an adventure is definitely had! ;D

      I don’t keep my house very clean. That’s my secret. ;D

Leave a Reply

