Kiddy Viddy, Kwy-da Vy-da, Tomayto, Tomahto.

As previously discussed, I had a pretty nice trail system near my new house in St John’s, and Ollie and I very much enjoyed it. However, he wasn’t technically allowed off leash there. There had to be somewhere else I could take him to let him properly romp about and maybe play with other dogs. Preferably within walking distance, because I couldn’t drive.

Luckily, Ollie and I both consider an hour away by foot a very reasonable walking distance on a sunny day off. And so, as a very special treat, I would sometimes head along the trails to end up at Quidi Vidi. Ollie loved these days – an hour to walk there, an hour roaming Quidi Vidi Lake, and an hour to walk back. The trails there and back were gorgeous in and of themselves, but the highlight was definitely Quidi Vidi.

Quack quack quack! Loves to watch the ducks, such funny little birds!

Quidi Vidi is a lovely area near downtown St John’s, where there’s a big lake aptly named Quidi Vidi Lake. There’s a trail all around the lake, which, on nice days,  is always bustling with walkers, runners, and cyclists. There are OODLES of ducks, and this one awesome goose. And, as the piece de resistance in Ollie’s world, there’s an off leash dog park!

I can't even explain how awesome I think this goose is. I loves her. And she hates Ollie. Which I guess is understandable, I'd probably hate Ollie also if I were a bird. . .

It’s pretty much just a fenced in sand yard, with a water fountain for dogs, and some benches for people. During the weekend it can be pretty busy, especially on nice days. During the week it’s not hard to find it empty. So I’ll go there on a day off to just play fetch, but on the weekend is when Ollie really gets a work out, running around with other dogs and stealing their balls. I find it highly amusing to watch all the dogs play with each other, and it’s a great relaxing way to spend a sunny Sunday afternoon.

Ollie having a time in the dog park, chasing a frisbee - one of his favourite things ever!

There are other spots around the lake to entertain: a sports field, a playground for children, this bizarre outdoor exercise area with giant exercise machines that LOOK like play structures, but are not for children. . . . There are some informational plaques as you make your way around the trail as well, if you’re into learning about stuff. Stuff like the history of the area, or stuff like how to pronounce “Quidi Vidi”. (I prefer the “Kiddy Viddy” approach, however the other is considered acceptable according to the informational plaque.)

If you’re without dog, and walks around a lake are not your thing, Quidi Vidi village also offers a brewery nearby, which I have actually yet to go to. However, when my dad was visiting I sent him on the brewery tour, and he loved it. Candice is also a big fan.

Definitely a spot worth checking out when you come for a visit to St John’s in the summer.  Let Ollie know you’re going, he’d love to join you!

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in Newfoundland and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Kiddy Viddy, Kwy-da Vy-da, Tomayto, Tomahto.

  1. omawarisan says:

    You live in such a beautiful place!

  2. Linda Marsh says:

    I haven’t seen the goose there lately!!!

  3. Pingback: Sometimes it’s all about how you get there | Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Leave a Reply

