Let’s Hear It For The Food!

So, confession time: I love food. A lot. Maybe it hasn’t been obvious yet, perhaps it hasn’t yet pervaded this blog. Trust me, that will change. This is only the beginning.

I had some great food my first weekend in St John’s, because we had to eat out for all our meals as I had no food in my house. We got my brother to try seafood, which is epic, and HE LIKED IT! I had this AMAZING cinnamon cheesecake, it was HEAVEN. Once I was settled I made do at home, or I mostly stuck to what was near my house, which was nothing overly exciting – Tim Horton’s, the mall food court, other random nearby fast food joints. There wasn’t much else within easy walking distance, and so it was hard to try much else.

If opportunity came to try a new restaurant, I’d take it. It wasn’t too long before industry representatives were taking the doctors at my clinic out for fancy meals and I was falling in love with the food available in downtown St. John’s!

The same weekend I had a friend in town and we went on the boat tour, we decided to go downtown and try out a restaurant she had heard tell of that she wanted to take her parents to when they visited.

The Sprout!

It’s a vegetarian/vegan restaurant on Duckworth St, and a super cute lil’ building. I was a little dubious because, well, I pretty much love meat. I have a degree in how to get meat on your plate, true story. However, I love food even when it’s lacking in animal protein, so I was willing to give it a try!

It’s a smallish little place, very homey and laid back. I don’t remember much of the menu, but I remember what I had. I had a vegan poutine, because  I love poutine, but I love cheese so I was a bit unsure about a cheese-less variety. . . but it was SO DELICIOUS! Had carrots, and some other stuff, and no cheese. . . but was DELICIOUS! Then for dessert I had some berry crumble thing, which was super tasty, and very comfort foodish. Just typing that sentence makes me crave berry crumble . . . mmmmm. . .

Was a very enjoyable dining experience – I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for something different. Or, you know, somewhere with options if you don’t like meat. I admit I haven’t been there since, mostly because I loves me some meat, but I walk by it with Ollie often. Every time I pass it I think about the yummy meal I had there – and if I can still remember it almost 2 years later, that’s got to say something!

Such a fun, colourful building 🙂

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in Newfoundland and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Let’s Hear It For The Food!

  1. Haven’t been there in awhile…can’t wait to eat out on the deck again! The pad thai is SO GOOD.

  2. linlah says:

    I must vist this place just so I can say I sat in that lovely building.

Leave a Reply

