Wee Vet Tale 3

There’s a saying that comes up a lot in vet school, and other areas of life I’m sure, “When you hear hoof steps, think horses not zebras.” In other words, common things happen commonly.

And then sometimes you get flattened by a herd of zebras. W.T.F. This is one of my zebra stories.

So, this geriatric yellow lab comes in – losing weight, not doing well, poor appetite, urging. The horse I’m thinking of? Cancer. This dog just looks like a tumour is hidden somewhere inside him, I just need to find it.

We start with blood work, and it’s fairly unremarkable. We do some radiographs… hello! What’s this? Some kind of shouldn’t-be-there object in the stomach? Bone? Rock? Other? The spleen looks pretty huge, and the liver seems a bit displaced… but nothing that would really be something to hang our hat on, except that foreign body.

Now, this dog hasn’t been right for a few weeks . . . so potentially this object has been bouncing around in there all this time, and maybe causing ulcers, and definitely causing discomfort. It fits. It’s a horse; Labradors are a breed known for eating things they shouldn’t. It is one problem to answer all the questions (that’s another thing we’re told a lot – try to find one problem that explains everything, rather than giving a patient multiple diseases at once.)

Owners opt to go to surgery to remove this item. Getting all ready to go, slice open his abdomen and HELLO MASSIVE SPLENIC MASS. Dear lord. The spleen wasn’t just ginormous, it had a huge giant spleenbaby growing on it. (On review of the radiographs afterwards, the mass was superimposed on the liver and you had to kind of squint to see it…).

So, we call the owners to get their okay for a splenectomy. Remove the spleen, and take a biopsy of the liver in case it’s a bad cancer and we want to know about metastases. Also, go into the stomach and remove that rock.

Histopathology comes back from the spleen… and it’s not cancer! It’s just necrosis (dying tissue), though we’re not really sure why. Still good to be gone, because that ‘mass’ was a large hemorrhage waiting to happen.

And here’s where the horse becomes a zebra: the liver biopsy? From the liver that looked normal, if a bit pale? Pretty much completely done. Pathologist was amazed we didn’t have abnormal values on our blood work, this liver is a moment away from being completely cirrhotic.

Nothing about this dog said he was in liver failure – no jaundice, no gross abnormalities on the liver, no abnormal values on the blood work. . . We never would have figured it out without a liver biopsy. We never would have taken a liver biopsy if the spleen didn’t have a mass on it. We wouldn’t have done the exploratory if we hadn’t seen the rock on the radiograph. Sometimes there’s a zebra hidden in amongst the horses.

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Job and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Wee Vet Tale 3

  1. JaniceP says:

    Yikes. That story? It’s a perfect example of why I’m not a vet. I’d be too scared that I was missing a zebra. (That, and I’d beat up too many pet owners.) Kudos to you for taking it on.

    • dottiemaggie says:

      haha, thanks.
      Not gonna lie, I do sometimes stay up at nights wonderign if I missed something with some cases :S But, at the same time, when I find those zebras, and get people more time with their beloved pet? LOVES IT. Makes up for the sleepless nights 🙂

  2. linlah says:

    That’s a zebra thundering down in a herd you could not see. Good job though sticking with it.

    • dottiemaggie says:

      haha, thanks 🙂
      I was actually having a run of zebras when that case came in… and sadly not many of them ended well 😦 Got to the point that if the appointment book said “exam – not themselves” I wanted to swap with another doctor… because if they saw me, I’d find a particularly unpleasant zebra…
      Happy to report this puppers did go on to have a good holiday time with her family, though 🙂

  3. Audubon Ron says:

    The owners need to keep the dog out of the martini’s. That’s what my owner needs to do.

  4. Kate says:

    Those damn zebras that are hiding.

  5. Pingback: Spleen. What is it Good For? | Trust me, I'm a doctor.

Leave a Reply

