My Life: An Epic Adventure

I’m a young, single veterinarian living in St. John’s who has the most ridiculous friends. It probably goes without saying that my life is awesome. If it doesn’t, you need to come to St. John’s for a visit and get yourself educated on the fun to be had in Newfoundland with Newfoundlanders.

But it’s more than that. I met a woman at a Bachelorette party once, who added me on facebook, and when several months later I ran into her again she says to me she says “I want your life. It sounds so epic!” (that is the short version of her potentially drunken ramble at me, but she definitely used the word “epic”. )

The adventures I have in Newfoundland, the adventures I have as a veterinarian . . . they are indeed a deadly combination of epic proportions. And as this blog was started as a place for me to remember, record, and archive these great adventures, you will get a glimpse of this epicness.

I’m a sucker for holidays and sentiment and nostalgia and all kinds of cheesy corny jazz. So naturally, as any thing comes to an end I find myself looking back at was has passed. Never more so than when a year comes to an end. With 2010, I find myself looking back further than just one year . . . because the spot I’m in now was not the working of just one year of adventures. Oh no. My life is a snowball of epicness that has been rolling and growing for some time now.

I’ll keep it simple, stick to the big years: 2009 and 2010.

2009: passed my NAVLE, went to Vegas, got a real adult job, finished vet school, turned 27 in Mexico, SWAM WITH SEA TURTLES OMGWTFBBQ, moved to Newfoundland, fell in love with Newfoundland, got my learner’s permit and got behind the wheel of a car for the FIRST TIME IN MY LIFE, faced my fear and started going to the gym, went to BC for the first time.

2010: met an amazing girl, passed my road test, moved to downtown St. John’s, BOUGHT A CAR OMGWTFBBQBULLTESTICLES, road tripped at every opportunity, had a love affair with George St. and my favourite ginger, made my first trip to an emergency room in St John’s, gave blood for the first time, joined a choir, crunched my car as only I could, got hit with a triple whammy of sad news, made a huge life decision, discovered a whole new love for Christmas, and went “home” for the holidays for the first time in 7 years.

And I left out all the veterinary adventures… the crazy surgeries, the joys, the tears, the day to day moments that make my life, the day to day frustrations that make me crazy… I’m really just skimming the surface here.

Many of these alluded to adventures will be expanded upon in future blog posts, never you worry. The point is, it’s been a roller coaster. There have been soul crushing lows, and dizzying highs, and at the end of the day I find myself here. The most positive place I’ve been in a very long time. I have a few health conditions that are greatly affected by stress, and I am as symptom free as I have ever been in my life. And it is entirely because of what, and who, is and isn’t a part of my life right now.

In 2009 I faced and overcame a lot of fears. In 2010 I rediscovered who I am.  The Snowball of Epicness is still rolling along, and it has a few targets for 2011. . . But I am feeling pretty confident that this time next year, no matter what happens, I’ll still be in this happy place.

I’m pretty sure I was born to be a veterinarian living in Newfoundland. Happy New Year!

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to My Life: An Epic Adventure

  1. JaniceP says:

    Magical things happen in the maritimes. The same thing happened to me when I lived in the Magdalen Islands. I’ve never been to NFLD, but almost think of NFLD as the English version of where I lived… an island of awesome. I’m glad you’re so happy there.

    Happy New Years to you, and may 2011 stay on the positive side of epic.

  2. Kate says:

    Happy New Year! I love this post…but in all honesty…I love everything you write. I wish I could write this for my life. You have done great things that required so much amazing strength. For you to be able to say:
    In 2009 I faced and overcame a lot of fears. In 2010 I rediscovered who I am.
    That is the best thing ever. I can’t wait to live vicariously through you as you go on the adventure that is 2011 of your life!

    • dottiemaggie says:

      you’re too sweet 🙂
      So far, 2011 has had lots of good food and lots of cute puppies… and also a very depressing case, and a wicked cold as of today :S But, balance! Life is all about balance! ;D

  3. Audubon Ron says:

    I would say enjoy it while it is epic and in the “now”. But, that would be a grandpa drag. BTW, the word Epic is banned in 2011. I think we ought go instead, “Narrative!” No? I’ll keep working on new catchwords in 2011. Meanwhile, you keep being trusted, cuz you’re a doctor and a good one at that!

    • dottiemaggie says:

      I don’t know if I can live without “epic”. it’s a word I used too much. Like “classic”. And “wicked”.

      …I’m not sure if “Narrative” will catch on, but I’m willing to give it a go….

  4. linlah says:

    In 09 were you affraid to go to the gym, or to drive the car, or drive the car to the gym. Just sayin’ (for Audubon Ron)

    Anyway hope you hit all your targets in 2011.

Leave a Reply

