Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

I love Christmas. I love the food, the music, the decorations, the warm fuzzy feelings. I love traditions. For me, Christmas is all about making memories.

My very first Christmas, with my Nan 🙂 I may not actually remember that Christmas, but that’s what pictures are for 😉

Growing up, I always spent Christmas Eve with my dad, and Christmas day with my mum, and I adore tradition. But once I moved away for school, I started working Christmas and had to make new traditions. I had an uncle in Guelph, and I’d have a meal with his family and celebrate with them. I don’t have family here in Newfoundland, so I’m yet again working on new traditions.

It has been raining nonstop for days upon days and it’s hard to believe it’s actually Christmas time . . . But it is in fact Christmas Eve tonight. I’m on call, but as of 9am tomorrow morning I’m off for a whole week. If luck’s on my side as far as emergencies go, I’ll be spending the night at my friend’s mum’s house (her mum doesn’t want me to wake up alone on Christmas day), and having Christmas breakfast with their family. Boxing Day I hop on a plane to go back to Ottawa to spend a few days with my dad, and this will be the first time in about 7 years I’ll be heading “home” over the holidays.

Most of the traditions from my childhood have faded into obscurity, though I do talk to my dad every Christmas Eve – it’s the one day of the year I miss him the most. While I lived in Guelph, I kind of fell out of love with Christmas a bit. Since moving to Newfoundland, I’ve begun some great new traditions that have completely rekindled my love for this time of year. This is especially helpful, because this is often the hardest time of year to be a vet (a story for another time.) I’m in a choir now, and we have some great Christmas time traditions that have quickly become some of my new favourite things about this time of year and I already can’t wait for next year to do them all again. There’s the Mummer’s Parade. Tibbs Eve. And, a definite highlight for this year, this happened:

We made Santa’s DAY, pretty sure ;D

I hope everyone reading this has a very merry Christmas, a delightful holiday season, and a wonderful New Year.  I’ll be having a purely relaxing vacation time while I’m at my dad’s and am not even taking my laptop with me. I’m just going to eat, sleep, and enjoy my family. So I’ll be back in the new year, with continuing adventures of a veterinarian in Newfoundland.

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Merry Christmas to all, and to all a good night!

  1. JaniceP says:

    Merry Christmas to you!

    I started making my own Christmas traditions a few years ago too – shortly after I started to dread the holiday. I realized that traditions are great, as long as they don’t lead to impossible expectations. Now I do whatever I want for Christmas and am enjoying it once again.

    (Since you’ll off line in Ottawa – Happy New Year to you too!)

    • dottiemaggie says:

      Impossible expectations ruin all kinds of holidays – like new year’s eve 😉
      I’m all about attainable goals. My Christmas vacation I just wanted to eat, sleep, read, and watch movies… check, check, check annnnd check! 😀

      and for new year’s eve i just want to party with my friends in a pretty dress… looks like that’ll be easily met 😉

  2. Kate says:

    Santa Claus is alive and well in the hearts of children who believe all around the world. He exists as certainly as love and generosity and devotion exist, and you know that they abound and give to your life its highest beauty and joy.

    ~Happy Christmas and Merry New Year from our family to you and yours

  3. Audubon Ron says:

    …and Happy New Years.

Leave a Reply

