Happy Holiday Blogtastic Shout Out

What seems like forever ago, I used to read a lot of blogs, kept on of my own, and really enjoyed it. I met some amazing people, made some lasting friendships, and had some fantastic adventures. Then vet school kind of took over my life and I drifted away from that whole world.

When I moved to Newfoundland, I had so much freedom and so many things I had missed while vet school took a priority, it was hard to know where to start. Truth be told, getting back into blogging wasn’t originally on that list.

Then I went to this party at this house. There was this girl. I didn’t really talk to her much, but the friend that brought me asked her for the address to her blog she had mentioned, and I made a note of it as well.

And so, the next day, recuperating on my couch, I started reading Candice Does the World. I ate it up. She made me laugh; she made me want to travel. She reminded me slightly of a favourite friend who I met through blogging way back when. I was in love. I started stalking her online. And I may have emailed her and told her so.  (A quick search through my email archives and I can find that original email from February 9, 2010. . . and now I’m laughing at myself going through these “old” emails.) Oddly enough, this did not send her running to the hills to get away from me, and this past summer she has become one of my very dearest friends. The memories I have made with this crazy ginger over the span of really just a few months are beyond ridiculous, and have only cemented my belief that St John’s is where I was meant to be.

Aside from being there for me in every possible way for the better part of 2010, there’s something else this entertaining travel writer has done for me . . . she got me back into writing. The more I read her blog, and the blogs I found through her, the more I missed being a part of an online community. When I told her I was considering starting up a blog again, she was super supportive and very encouraging . . . and I’m fairly certain without her influence it never would have happened.

I’m a firm believer that everything – even the bad things – happens for a reason. I can’t even begin to explain how much of my life right now can be traced back, at least in part, to my reading Candice’s blog. She’s a fantabulous person who has had a bit of a hard go this past year, but she makes the most of it and never really gives up. Her adventures are hilarious in their own rights, but the way she spins them makes them that much more enjoyable.  She loves Newfoundland, beer, and adventure . . . which are a pretty excellent combination. I’m going to miss having her as a neighbour, but she’s destined to take on the world, and I can’t wait to hear about all the fun she’ll be having.

I heart you, Candice. Happy holidays!

I love this girl.

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Happy Holiday Blogtastic Shout Out

  1. Kate says:

    Great post! I didn’t realize until a couple weeks ago that you and Candice knew eachother in the “real life.” So cool! If I’m ever in your neck of the woods…can I come and have a beer with you both?

    I learned so much about you in this post…and my most pressing question is…does you old blog still exist? I would love to go and read that one!! 🙂 I’m so glad you decided to write again, I can’t get enough of your writing!

    You’re linked!

    • dottiemaggie says:

      awww, thanks 🙂 you most definitely can come have a beer with us both, we’ll have several! 🙂

      and, I did a quick hunt, it does indeed still exist 😉 photos don’t seem to be working… and it’s mostly about knitting, so not so exciting as, say, removing eyeballs.. ;D but here’s the link for the curious: http://bbknits.blogspot.com/

  2. Candice says:

    Oh geez! You actually made me cry! THANKS A LOT. Funny to trace back those events, eh. A good friendship started out of a pretty shitty situation. Everything happens for a reason, like you say. And look how our little friend circle blossomed!

    Love you!

    P.S. You should totally post our santa picture.

    P.P.S. Kate you can DEFINITELY have a beer with us, or several!

  3. linlah says:

    That picture of you and Candice makes my heart happy like a hot toddy on a snowy day.

    Santa picture? Post the Santa picture.

    • dottiemaggie says:

      I think it might be my favourite picture of her and I. When I stop being lazy I’mma print it and put it somewhere. Maybe at work, because I don’t have kids. And they probably all think she’s my girlfriend anyway.

      and, also, santa picture posted 😉 multiple times! ;D

  4. Pingback: Third Annual Happy Holiday Blogtastic Shout Out. | Recommended Daily Dose

  5. Kate says:

    Big huge sigh of relief…here is the completed Blogtastic Shout Out…
    You’ll find some great reads…or I’ll refund your money!

    http://www.recommendeddailydose.com/?p=7073

  6. frigginloon says:

    Stalker, stalker stalker!!!! Blahahahahaha, I have really enjoyed your blog this year, looking forward to more about all those creatures great and small 🙂 . Have a wonderful Christmas and New Year.

Leave a Reply

