Wee vet tale 2

Holidays are really kicking into gear, so I thought it was time for something short, sweet, and funny. . .

I make a lot of phone calls. I’m not hugely comfortable with the phone, never have been. . . so I tend to leave rambling messages when I get voicemail, and stumble over my words at times when I get someone on the phone. However, part of the job involves talking to clients on the phone, so I make a lot of phone calls.

I was out at our satellite clinic one day, and I come out of an appointment and see a note from my receptionist “Pls call Laura Smith 555-8888”. The name rings a bell, so I dial the number without opening the file.

“Hello?” says a man’s voice.

“Hello, may I please speak to Laura?”

“. . . . . .I’ll see if she can come to the phone. . . .”

“Hello?” says a woman’s voice.

“Hi, this is Dr Maggie calling from the vet hospital. . .” and as I say this I am opening the file, and realize why the man I was speaking to sounded like he thought I was crazy. . .

. . . Laura is the dog’s name.

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Job and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Wee vet tale 2

  1. Holly B says:

    Bwwaahhhaaa!!! I’m sorry, but that really is funny.

  2. omawarisan says:

    ha ha! hadn’t really thought about the perils of clients who have someone taking all their calls for them!

  3. linlah says:

    Um, I think that message was taken by my co-worker.

  4. patti says:

    Sometimes when I’m at the vet’s with my dog, I’ll start a story with, “Well, his big brother…” when I really mean my son.

    • dottiemaggie says:

      haha, yeah. That’s pretty common – though I sometimes don’t know if the “brother” is a human or an animal 😉 Some of my friends give me a hard time for talking about work like “This dog came in blah blah blah” because it makes them picture a dog just strolling in all by itself, by choice ;P

  5. Kate says:

    That was a perfect laugh for today…thanks!!

Leave a Reply

