If you have more freckles on your face than turnips in a stew. . .

Okay, stepping away from being a vet and living in Newfoundland. . . how about an entry dedicated to how much I love PEI?

I recently went back to PEI for a few days, to spend time with my family and to just recharge. This was my first time going since I got my driver’s licence, and my first time renting a car… and I took full advantage. I drove over 900km, just taking it all in. It really is a great place to just drive and drive and drive… the highway is not very highwayish, and there are all these delightful dirt roads… I love it. Rolling hills of farmland, potato fields, cows, churches, ocean views, red dirt… I love it all.

I’m a bit of a nutbar for taking photos. I can be a bit shy about it when around lots of people… but I had plenty of solitude in PEI, and therefore I took plenty of photos.  So without any further pre amble, here are my top 9 photos from my 2010 trip to PEI! (potentially selected based on subject, and not actual photo quality. Just saying.)

Mooooo!

Something I miss in Newfoundland is cows. There are some cows somewhere, but driving around you don’t pass a field full o’ cow as like you do in Ontario, never mind PEI. When I was little I was obsessed with cows… which eventually evolved into a ridiculous obsession with penguins, but anyway. I still heart cows.

Lighthouse love!

East Point Lighthouse. I have a thing for lighthouses, so decided that on this trip back to the gentle island, I’d hit up the four corners. East Point and North Cape are considered “tip to tip”, but there’s also a most western lighthouse, and a most southern… And I didn’t always take the most direct route, hence the 900+ km racked up on the rental car…

This is where my heart is.

Red cliffs! Classic PEI! Loves!

It was so sunshiney every day I was there…

Wood Island lighthouse – most southern point of PEI. Where the Northumberland Ferries leave from to head to Nova Scotia. Probably the lighthouse I’ve seen the most often, as growing up that ferry was the only way on and off the island. (Now there’s this wicked huge bridge… which I didn’t go anywhere near this trip, so no photos of that.)

Farming some wind!

Windmills and potato fields, what’s not to love? I can’t even explain what it is… but I love the windmills. They’re all over PEI, it’s pretty much on the forefront of wind farming. And I’m not gonna lie, I find them ridiculously hypnotizing and they make me an awful driver. Their sheer size just blows my mind. I need to learn not to stare at them while the car is moving, though. . .

Look up, look waaaaayyyyyy up!

West Point lighthouse – tallest lighthouse on PEI. I’m pretty sure I’d actually never been to this particular lighthouse before. I’ve been to a LOT of the PEI lighthouses, but never quite made it to West Point. It actually has an inn attached to it, including 2 rooms IN THE LIGHTHOUSE. New life dream, just saying.

Beaches in NL have nothing on this.

I heart beach. I heart beach with soft red sand, and sand dunes, and salty waves. This is West Point beach… which would be another bonus to staying at the inn that includes ROOMS INSIDE A LIGHTHOUSE.

Makes the lighthouse look so tiny…

Looking down a windmill blade at the North Cape lighthouse. North Cape is somewhat windmill headquarters. Very scientific and informative interpretive centre. If you’re into that sort of thing. (and I totally am.)

There are no words for the deliciousness.

It’s not a trip back to PEI without some BEST ICE CREAM IN THE WORLD. Mmm mmm cows! I got some every night. This was my last night, I went for the double scoop: Wowie Cowie and Messie Bessie. SO RIDICULOUSLY DELICIOUS.

And there you go, my vacation in 9 photos!

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Life and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to If you have more freckles on your face than turnips in a stew. . .

  1. Candice says:

    Yep, I’m totally taking an excursion to PEI when I’m in NS.

    Captain MOOOOOrgan!

  2. Susan says:

    Good job with the pictures.

  3. linlah says:

    The blade is amazing and I want to stay in a hotel in a lighthouse, how cool.

    • dottiemaggie says:

      the rooms in the lighthouse are super quaint… lovely big beds with nice old fashion quilts… I need to look into spending a night there for sure. And being the west point of the island, I bet there’s wicked sunsets…

  4. Audubon Ron says:

    Thanks for the tour.

  5. ieatmypigeon says:

    Thank you so much for this post. I’ve always been slightly obsessed with PEI because I’m a huge Anne of Green Gables devotee. The red cliffs are just gorgeous.

    • dottiemaggie says:

      I’m a *HUGE* Anne of Green Gables devotee! I went and saw Anne of Green Gables the Musical while I was there, for the 50 millionth time.. and also went and saw Anne & Gilbert for the 3rd time (Anne & Gilbert is possibly my favourite musical of all time..)
      I didn’t hit up any of the Anne stuff this time, but I’ve been to Green Gables a handful of times, and the birth place of LM Montgomery, and a couple other Anne-ish museums… I reread all 8 books fairly annually.. I’m a bit nuts about the whole thing, really 😉

  6. JaniceP says:

    I love PEI for all of the same reasons. I lived on the Magdalen Islands for a year, and spent a week in PEI a week before I moved there, and a week after I moved away. You’re right: it is the perfect place to just drive around and look (that’s what I did too.)

Leave a Reply

