Arriving in Newfoundland, by way of Las Vegas

I figured a good place to start is how I ended up in Newfoundland… so let’s start at the very beginning, a very good place to start…

I was born in Charlottetown, PEI.  It’s relevant.

We moved to Ottawa when I was still a wee mite, and that’s where I grew up… but returned to the gentle island of potatoes pretty much every summer.

When it came time for me to head to university, I went to Guelph, Ontario for 8 years. Good times.

Ottawa and Guelph were enjoyable, and I have happy memories of both… but ultimately, I wanted to go back east. I missed ocean.

So as my time at Guelph was nearing an end, I started looking for jobs in the Atlantic provinces… no luck with PEI, but there was a job available in St John’s, Newfoundland that sounded very promising!  I happened to know a vet who worked out there, and asked her about it… it was her job! She was leaving for personal reasons and highly recommended the clinic… so I applied.

There was a lot of phone tag involved, over several months, but eventually I was told they’d be calling to arrange interviews later that week, and I said “Well, I leave for Las Vegas on Friday so won’t be available for a week after that.” Not a problem, they’d call back soon…

…so they call back in an hour! Why am I going to Las Vegas? They asked. Why, to attend the Western Veterinary Conference! I say.  You don’t say! Why, one of the clinic owners will be there! How would you like to have your interview in Vegas? Works for me!

Long story short, I had my interview in Vegas, was offered the job that night and accepted it on the spot (my inside source had already told me all I needed to know to accept the job!).

Almost as exciting as getting a job? Finding a Cold Stone Creamery in your hotel!

To bring you back up to speed: I had never actually been to Newfoundland. And contrary to popular belief of some mainlanders, it is not even remotely close to PEI. Seriously. It was easier to visit PEI from Guelph compared to St John’s.

I left Ontario April 30, 2009. Arrived in St John’s around midnightish… so let’s go with May 1, 2009. I started work May 6, 2009. And I have never looked back.

I didn’t know anyone when I came here, and just over one year later I can’t imagine my life without the people I’ve met here. The learning curve at work was steep, but I love my job. I knew very little about St John’s when I moved here, and now it’s my second most favourite place in the world.

At the end of the day, my heart belongs to my little red island… but I’m having quite a time out here on the rock.

View of St John’s from atop Mt Scio, just a 30 minute hike from my first house in St John’s.

About dottiemaggie

A veterinarian living and working in St John's, Newfoundland. I love my job, and I love my home. Professionally I am passionate about critical care and client education. Away from work I am passionate about enjoying life, spending time with friends, enjoying hobbies of all sorts, and exploring this wonderful province I call home.
This entry was posted in My Story - The Job, My Story - The Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Arriving in Newfoundland, by way of Las Vegas

  1. linlah says:

    I’d like to end up somewhere, anywhere, by way of Las Vegas, you know because Vegas is so much fun.

  2. Kate says:

    Wow, what a great story!

Leave a Reply

